FREDERIK BUYCKX photography

a cooperation between me and my camera

Sri Lanka ’05

leave a comment »

In 2005 I went for 2,5 weeks to Sri Lanka, the first 9 days were organized by our school, but with some of my classmates we decided to change the returndate so we could travel another week by ourselves also. This trip was only 1 month after the Tsunami hit Sri Lanka. So with our school we collected some money and a lot of schoolmaterial for children. So over there we visited some schools, did some drawing and painting with the children. I must say I was quiet chocked by the disaster the tsunami caused, and then meeting local people at the coast who invite you into their home, or at least, what’s left of it …who have almost nothing left but still give you food and drinks and let you stay for the night… is quiet a contrast with our western mentality and makes you think about a lot of things !

dscf6327

dscf6357

dscf6476

dscf6503

dscf6519

dscf6629

dscf6657

dscf6684

dscf6766

dscf6958

dscf6971

dscf7095

dscf7147

dscf7135

Removing a leech (bloedzuiger)

dscf7011

Local friend Rupa, who took us with his tuktuk for a 8hour drive to a national park. I gave him one of my t-shirts and let him hear some good old Flamish Clouseau songs.

dscf6941

Me having a great time in Rupa’s Tuktuk! The funniest and most difficult thing a ever drove!

dscf7104

I bet those monkeys could smell my love for animals! or probably they just smelled the nuts in my hand…

dscf6526

Written by frederik

January 12, 2009 at 11:02 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

