FREDERIK BUYCKX photography

a cooperation between me and my camera

One of my Pakistan Favourites

with 4 comments

Maybe it’s more about the moment and the feeling I had, but I think this is one of my favourite portraits I made in Pakistan. 4 T-shirts, 2 sweaters, a towel used as a scarf and a pair of socks used as gloves, I woke up at 6 o’clock at 4000 m in the Pakistan Himalaya. I was there to see the yearly Polo festival in Shandur. Early in the morning is one of my favourite moments to make photos, everything is nice, the light, the people who just got out of bed, it’s quiet,…only a bit cold. Walking around, I got invited, again, in a warm tent for a hot cup of tea. While sitting in this tent enjoying my cup of tea, the sun was rising already when all of sudden this ray of sunlight dropped into the tent on the guy’s face. So I kindly made some gestures to make clear he had to stay at the same spot, while I was thinking “DON’T you move 1 inch”! 

a lot more photos will follow…

Pakindia3_303

Written by frederik

August 5, 2009 at 8:29 am

Posted in Portrait, Travel

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I can see why you like it. It is indeed an excellent portrait. The eye contact is very strong and the light falling on his face feels as though we’re allowed a glimpse into his world.

    I’m very much enjoying your series of images.

    jenquest

    August 5, 2009 at 9:07 am

  2. We have a winner Freddie, schot in de roos, opsturen die handel. Ik werd van den eersten aanblik meegezogen in de staar van zijn oog, the man hypnotized me for some seconds, and that’s all it needs. Sterk werk, 1 van uw beste tot nu toe, mss samen met uw pics van Central America.

    pjthematerealist

    August 5, 2009 at 12:20 pm

  3. Samen met u, ook één van mijn favorietjes 🙂

    Claire

    August 5, 2009 at 5:37 pm

  4. Is inderdaad een erg erg goeie !

    kephaniestatic

    August 7, 2009 at 4:47 pm


Leave a Reply

