FREDERIK BUYCKX photography

a cooperation between me and my camera

Hello from Albania!

with 4 comments

Yep, I’m in Albania! But the start of my new project could have gone better. First my flight was cancelled in Brussels because of 3cm of snow. But they put me on another plain, and then I had to wait 7 hours in Rome for a connection to Tirana. So I arrived at 1 o’clock at night in Albania instead of 3 o’clock in the afternoon. But I was happy to finally be in Tirana. I Stay with a very nice young couple who both speak perfectly english and know a lot about Albania to help me with my project. My project is planned to be a documentary about economy of Albania, but everything can happen in this country, so we’ll see where we ‘ll end up. First 3 weeks I will travel through the North and keep my eyes open for all possible interesting things or people I encounter. Then I go back to Belgium to discuss with my teachers and have a look at my photo’s and then I’ll return another 2 times to Ablania.

My first day in Albania could have been better, if I hadn’t dropped my camera on the street… first time this happens to me, hopefully the last. “Luckily” it fell on the lens, and it has a filter on it, so the filter broke, but the lens and the camera is ok. Now I just have to find a store where they can remove the broken filter cause it’s stuck on the lens now…

But i have two other lenses luckily so I can still make enough photo’s. Here a preview of my first few hours in Tirana. Not all of them are necessarily useful for my project, just an image of tirana.

Written by frederik

February 1, 2010 at 1:20 am

Posted in Travel

Tagged with ,

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Olah, bewogen begin van de trip ..
    kijk uit naar meer.
    Veel plezier ginder
    xx
    R.

    Rodzjer

    February 1, 2010 at 1:27 am

  2. Probeert deze keer is zo ver te gaan als ge kunt; Infiltreren in de Albanese maffia, mee op smokkelroute naar België, illegale prostitutie, afperserijen…
    Laat u volledig gaan Freddie!

    PJ Fraussen

    February 1, 2010 at 11:22 am

    • Haha, sebiet sturen ze hem in stukskes terug op. Maareuh, het amusement daar, en hopelijk heb je de rest van de reis wat meer geluk.

      Kleine

      February 1, 2010 at 11:56 am

    • piet, ten eerste is het gewone leven hier dikwijls al straf genoeg, en ten tweede, voor al die dingen moet ge gewoon in Antwerpen zijn 😉
      alle, da is echt eigenlijk hoor, die hebbe hier allemaal vrienden of familie ergens in europa, dikwijls zitten of zaten die in den bak en van die dingen, maar al die albanese misdaad gebeurt voornamelijk buiten albania zelf…
      Maar ik doe mijn best om er iets boeiends van te maken zenne

      frederik

      February 8, 2010 at 8:00 am


Leave a Reply

