FREDERIK BUYCKX photography

a cooperation between me and my camera

OLDsCOOL!

with 4 comments

So, it’s the time of the year you have to study for school= time of the year everything in your room is more interesting then your books and you start doing things where you never had the time for before. So I was studying…. while I was wondering if that very old camera (like grandfather-old) on my closet would still be working. So I start checking out the camera and all buttons seemed to work. So I wanted to check inside what kind of film would fit. After I found how to open the camera, I was extremely surprised to see there was still a very old film inside this camera! So I quickly closed the camera again, but a bit to slow actually because i really didn’t expect to be a film in it… So , I knew a lot of light entered the camera, but I thought it would be worth to check if there was still anything on this film, especially because it was my grandfather’s camera. So I went to a photoshop in Ghent where they told me this kind of film had been stopped producing after 1985 (like I said, very old) and this kind of film normally Β has a different kind of developing. Until some years ago, they could send these kind of films to Switzerland where they would develop it, but even that has stopped now.

So the only option was to develop it like the normal modern films, and don’t expect anything from it. So i didn’t, and indeed, the whole film was blank, EXCEPT the first picture on the film was still kind of visible! So after I scanned it, which first looked horrible, I did some major curves and levels changes in photoshop, and this was the result πŸ™‚

The woman on the right is my grandmother who is now 83 ( we are still figuring out who is the left one) and on the telephone cell is written some stuff in spanish, ending on ‘Madrid’. So a short conclusion will be that this is my grandmother about 40 years ago on holiday in Madrid. HOW COOL IS THAT πŸ™‚

I’m dying to see my grandparents this weekend to show them this picture and hopefully they can tell me something more about it.

Bye the way, I like my grandfather’s style ! πŸ™‚

Written by frederik

May 25, 2010 at 11:44 pm

Posted in Portrait, Street, Travel

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. dag Frederik

    ik moet eerlijk zeggen dat ik de mammie niet direct herken, en de pappie nog minder

    maar ik ben bijna zeker dat de mvevrouw links Adele is
    vrouw van Leon waar zij heel lang bevriend mee zijn geweest en die ook altijd in Agde waren,
    maar die allebei al lang dood zijn

    tante lieve

    lieve buyckx

    May 26, 2010 at 2:08 am

  2. Zalig! Je zou voor minder even de boeken aan de kant leggen πŸ™‚ Wat ‘n fijne ontdekking! Als ik een oude camera koop/krijg hoop ik altijd dat er nog een oud filmpje inzit met foto’s op, maar die chance heb ik nog nooit gehad. Lucky you! πŸ™‚

    jasmijndecuyper

    May 26, 2010 at 9:44 am

  3. heel leuk frederik!! dat zijn echt de kleine dingen die het zo leuk maken.. succes met leren

    david

    May 26, 2010 at 5:23 pm

  4. Van dit soort verhalen maakt mij hart een vreugde sprongetje. Echt schoon. Ik vind de foto ook echt perfect, misschien maakt het verhaal er rond hem net zo.

    Hermine

    May 31, 2010 at 11:23 am


Leave a Reply

